NEAHMA Committees

How do I become more involved with NEAHMA ?

If you are interested in becoming more involved with NEAHMA or volunteer, please contact the office at 781-380-4344.

Who are NEAHMA volunteers?

The NEAHMA Board and the Planning Committees consist of volunteers from our Regular Members and Associate Members. NEAHMA relies strongly on participation from our membership. Without their commitment to volunteer time and efforts, we would not be able to provide the level of training and membership services that we offer.

How much time is involved in being a volunteer?

The amount of time needed to become a volunteer or board member depends on the board position you accept or the committee you join. The Board meets once a month for about 3 hours. The planning committees usually meet for about 1 hour a month and  most of the communication can be accomplished through email.

What can I do to help?

Reach out to us to ask about committees or volunteering at events

Committee Lists

Affiliates Committee
Chairpersons- Ka-Ling Flynn, Flynn Law and Steve Sorkin, 24 Restore


Annual Conference and NEAHMA Maintenance Expo Committee
Chairperson- Chris Salamanis-Rivera, Beacon Communities and Bart Poulin, Greener Horizon

Conference planning and coordinating.


Charity Committee
Chairperson: Kristen Fowler, Peabody Properties, Inc.

Volunteering and coordinating Donation Drives and fundraisers for Team NEAHMA charities.


Communities of Quality Committee
Chairperson: Yoany Vargas, Housing Management Resources

The Committee is tasked with communicating COQ initiatives via NAHMA to NEAHMA, promoting the designation within the NEAHMA membership, and evaluating and selecting COQ award winners in each of the designated categories for the annual NEAHMA COQ awards. 

Credentialing & Designations Committee
Chairperson: Laura Francis, Trinity Management

This committee reviews all NAHP, NAHP-e, NAHMS, NAHMT and CGPM designation applications for completeness.  The committee sends these applications to the NAHMA Committee for the final approval.


Energy and Sustainability (Green) Committee
Chairperson: Scott Ployer, NPMSG

This committee shall be the catalyst for working with NEAHMA member firms on the myriad of energy, sustainability and “green” initiatives.  These include but are not limited to providing guidance on how to apply for energy upgrade grants, rebate or other incentive programs; develop and recommend to the board, programs to support this mission and to craft the organizations energy reduction position statement.   The committee will also establish best practices guidelines with an emphasis on sustainability principles and energy conservation that can be shared with all NEAHMA member firms. 

As the leaders in the affordable housing industry, we are all responsible to help reduce energy usage at our properties and so do so with fiscal prudence. The committee will also work with other committees (i.e. Grassroots Advocacy, Career Outreach & Professional Development, Training and Education or the Maintenance Sub-Committee) on collaborative programs and initiatives like the annual Maintenance Training Day, currently held at Gillette Stadium or for energy related legislation at local, state or the federal level.


Finance Committee
Chairperson: Jesene Godfrey, Wingate Companies
Securing the finances of NEAHMA.


Grass Roots/Advocacy Committee

This committee advocates on behalf of NEAHMA member firms to raise the level of awareness regarding the preservation of affordable housing programs and other issues related to ownership, financing, management and compliance, at the local, state, and/or federal level. 

The purpose of these efforts is so that we can help to influence public perception, regulations, or public policy such as pending legislation that affects our sector / industry.  Unlike “direct lobbying,” grassroots advocacy relies nearly totally on the general public and organizations like ours “not professional lobbyists” to connect with legislators and other government officials regarding pertinent issues. 

Ongoing grassroots issues include but are not limited to full-funding and timely payment of project-based Section 8 contracts; insuring strong budgets for Federal multifamily housing programs and the preservation and enhancement of the Low Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC). 


Kid’s Day Committee
Chairperson:  Kristen Fowler, Peabody Properties, Inc.

Coordinating and planning NEAHMA Annual Kid’s Day event and Drug-Free Poster Contest.


Marketing, Public Relations and Membership Committee
Chairperson: Kerry Dervil, Peabody Properties


Nominating Committee
Chairperson: Sarah Clark, First Realty Management

The Nominating Committee is chaired by either a Past President or Director Emeritus, and comprised of four (4) other voting members from participating member companies. 
All voting members must be from different member companies. The current President also has a seat on this committee, but is a non-voting member in accordance with the current Bylaw


Strategic Planning Committee
Chairperson: Sarah Clark, First Realty Management


Training & Education Committee
Chairperson:  Chris Salamanis-Rivera, Beacon Communities